Skip to content

New Deck, Unsafe

April 9, 2011

 

Deck woes, we have all seen them. Any time I look at a house that has a deck I do two things, I look under it, if I can, and if there is interest in the house by the buyers, I check at the town hall for a permit. When I list a house, I do the same thing. Why? Because the inspector will find it, and I would rather find it first (if I can) when I list a house.

Safety is another reason we should all be checking the underside of the decks, even our own. I don’t know about you, but I certainly wouldn’t want to have a party on the deck below!

Mr. Steven Smith, King of the House, LLC, is a great home inspector, I have learned so much from his blog. If you have not followed him, I suggest you do!

 

Via Steven L. Smith, Bellingham, Wa. Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc):

Below is a photo that I took the other day at a million dollar property….brand new. This is a high deck overlooking the bay. The home inspectors will notice, right away, that this deck is not ANCHORED to the home at the ledger board. There are no through-bolts nor are there lag screws. All good building practices, and codes, call for positive anchoring of a deck to a home. Otherwise, collapse or “pull-away” is a strong possibility over the years. And, of course, the higher the deck more risk of serious injuries or loss of life. 

If you would like further information on properly securing a deck ledger board to a home, you can click on the video link below. This is a video, on the topic, that I produced a few months ago.

 

 

         

         

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

