Skip to content

Who so ever asks me of my birth… I will tell them I am born of Irish Princes

March 17, 2011

Happy St Patricks DayLast year I wrote a fantastic (in my humble opinion) post for St. Patrick’s Day. I find this year I have no energy or time to write such a great post. This year I am waiting the birth of my third grandson. I have high hopes of having a St. Patrick’s Day grand baby, but we all know it will be on his time, not ours… I don’t know why it has to be that way, but it is.

So, in the interest of time, I have decided to use the facts I pulled together from last year. A few things about St. Patrick’s Day which some of you might have known and forgotten, not known at all, or who really don’t care about these facts but will forgive me because it is, after all, St. Patrick’s Day! And I am of Irish descent!

  • St. Patrick wasn’t Irish at all, he had been kidnapped by Irish raiders from Britain when he was 16 and spent the next 6 years as a slave in Ireland before escaping.
  • St. Patrick heard voices that told him to go back to Ireland.
  • St. Patrick probably did not really drive the snakes out of Ireland as there have NEVER been snakes in Ireland.
  • St. Patrick died March 17th, 460 AD.
  • The first St. Patrick’s Day Parade was on March 17, 1762. The Irish soldiers that were serving in the English military marched through the streets of New York City to show their solidarity.
  • Although Corned Beef and Cabbage is what we in the US think of as traditional Irish food for St. Patrick’s Day, we brought the corned beef to them! They eat Bacon and Cabbage, the bacon being like Canadian Bacon.
  • In 2007 it is estimated that 41.5 billion pounds of corned beef and 2.6 billion pounds of cabbage were sold in the United States.
  • Irish is the second largest reported ancestry in the United States, German is in the lead.
  • The Guinness Factory in Dublin, Ireland has a lease that was signed for 45 pounds per year for up to 9,000 years. Think on that! (OK, that one is not really about St. Patrick’s Day, other than the fact is has to do with beer….

“Who so ever asks me of my birth… I will tell them I am born of Irish Princes who ruled in Donegal a thousand years ago; that I am descended from the High Kings of Ireland, and my name is from the Clann ÓDochartaigh!”  (from Ar nDuthchas newsletter #27)

(My mother’s maiden name was Doherty, just in case you were wondering…)

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, a day when we are all a little bit Irish!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

