Skip to content

A Paper-less Challenge, a most worthy lifesytle change!

February 24, 2011

Paper rollsI have always said that paper is the bane of my existence. How many times have I heard “keep a paper trail”. The trail became so overwhelming at times it looks more like Mount Paper, which can rapidly grow to the size of Mount Everest! And makes me want to SCREAM!

When computers came into popular use I could see the value of this paper-less lifestyle. But I admit to printing out things because I was in the “paper trail” mode still. That CYA mindset is hard to change! It was not so easy to break the habit, I admit it. I would look at stacks of paper, of file cabinets stuffed to where the papers were hanging out, the drawers ready to break, and just cringe. There has to be a better way!

Recently I went through the New Year Ritual of cleaning my desk in the office. Every year I do this, every year my broker has a heart attack, thinking I am leaving. This year I vowed to do things differently. And so far I am not doing that bad.

  • First and foremost, I think very carefully before hitting that “print” button. I believe I have managed to cut what I print in half.
  • I have a box behind my desk for non sensitive material that I had to print for whatever reason. I am saving that paper to give to my grandson’s daycare provider. The kids can use it for creating the most fantastic things, I am actually excited about this!
  • A second box behind me is for more sensitive documents. Although these must be shredded, I am using both sides before shredding!
  • I have downloaded the program “Primo PDF” which allows me to drop just about any file from my computer and turn it into a PDF file. I can email everything this way.
  • I am working on going through my old files, pulling out things that are just not important and scanning the rest. These papers will be recycled or shredded depending on their nature.
  • I will look into digital document signing. By the end of the year I hope that most of my important papers can be digitally signed instead of printed out.
  • I will purchase only recycled paper for my use in the office
  • Plus after reading all the other Paper-less Challenge posts, I will get even MORE tips and ideas to go paperless!

AND MOST IMPORTANT, I WILL NOW PURCHASE TUBE-FREE TOILET PAPER! Did you know that there are approximately 17 billion toilet paper tubes produced annually in the USA according to Kimberly Clark? And this accounts for… 160 million pounds of trash. I will do my part and purchase tube free toilet paper from now on. HOW ABOUT YOU?

toilet paper

“This post is written as a submission to the ActiveRain & Kodak Paper-less Challenge Contest. I have the chance to win the high speed KODAK SCANMATE i1120 Scanner, great for helping real estate professionals reduce their stacks of paper by scanning contracts, photos and business cards in seconds.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

