Skip to content

The Prime Directive…

February 20, 2011

The Prime Directive…

My own prime directiveThe United Federation of Planets has The Prime Directive, (yes, I admit I am a TREKKIE, right here and now for all to see)  I love the Prime Directive, however after reading it I realize that I need my own Prime Directive for my personal and business life. Starfleet personnel lived (and died) by the Prime Directive, often making difficult decisions in order to hold true to the Prime Directive. The Prime Directive carries the highest of moral obligations…. interesting… I like the way that sounds.

Of course, we Realtors® have our Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice, which is like The Prime Directive. I know we are all familiar with our COE, but have you really read the preamble? Here is my favorite part, (a portion of) the Preamble to our Realtor® Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice:

Under all is the land. Upon its wise utilization and widely allocated ownership depend the survival and growth of free institutions and of our civilization. REALTORS® should recognize that the interests of the nation and its citizens require the highest and best use of the land and the widest distribution of land ownership. They require the creation of adequate housing, the building of functioning cities, the development of productive industries and farms, and the preservation of a healthful environment.

Such interests impose obligations beyond those of ordinary commerce. They impose grave social responsibility and a patriotic duty to which REALTORS® should dedicate themselves, and for which they should be diligent in preparing themselves. REALTORS®, therefore, are zealous to maintain and improve the standards of their calling and share with their fellow REALTORS® a common responsibility for its integrity and honor.”

As far as my own Prime Directive, it is easy for me to say that I am honest, good and truthful. I believe that, but do I live that every day? Am I honest when I take an overpriced listing? Or when I take on a job I know in my heart I shouldn’t take on? Do I operate with the highest of integrity at all times? I would like to think so, but with the current economy, with the fear of nothing in my pipeline, could I be persuaded to forsake what I believe in? I truly hope I never forsake what I believe in, what I know to be right and true in my heart.

In light of that, I have decided to write my own Prime Directive and put it in a place I will see every day. Silly? Perhaps. But in the never ending quest to be the best that I can be it is something I believe will only help me to stretch and grow and be the best I can be. My personal standards of practice and standards of life, so to speak.

How about you? Do you have your own Prime Directive?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

