Skip to content

That groundhog knew what was good for him after all….

February 2, 2011

That groundhog knew what was good for him after all….

groundhog day in New Milford CTI have to admit, unlike the groundhog, I don’t want to leave my den today. I give the rodent credit for leaving the nest in this weather. Spring must be just around the corner, it is the only thing I can think about these days. Fond memories of any season other than winter, and I am a winter lover! But this is over the top.

So here I was, all set to get in my car and drive to Punxsutawney, PA today. My thoughts were a bit on the negative side. OK, my thoughts included a shot gun if that damn rodent went back inside his little hole. I was packing heat and making my way to Punxsutawney, PA. I didn’t know how I was going to get there, but I was going.

Our own Jackie Connelly-Fornuff was going with me, as she put it, a Thelma and Louise adventure.. only the rodent was the one buying the farm…. 

We have our own prognosticator, Chuckles, (happens to be a female) at the Lutz Children’s Museum in Manchester, CT, but Phil seems to be the ringleader and I was going straight to the top. As a side note, Chuckles was hit by a car as a baby and received a nasty head injury, she does suffer from neurological damage. The museum’s animal curator, Sarah Wilby, stated “Her balance might be a little off and she stares at you weird, but her vision hasn’t been affected.”

Ice storm New Milford CTOutside my own house, the temp is a balmy 20 degrees. All things considered, looking at other parts of the country, that isn’t bad at all! What is bad, yet another winter storm that is dropping nothing but sleet and freezing rain here. I ventured out with the dog, he ran right back inside as the ice pelted us, stinging my face and his whole body. Poor guy… I went back out after fueling up with a cappuccino to assess the damage. Yep, the car is a big ice ball. The ice is about a quarter inch thick, evenly all over the car. It will take a miracle to get through the ice. There is slice on the ground.. that would be snow, sludge and ice. Let me point out here, slice weighs a ton!

So all in all a lucky day! I don’t have to drive to Punxsutawney, PA, you won’t be reading about me on CNN, Phil and all his friends prognosticated what I wanted to hear! Spring is on the way, despite the fact that there will be snow on the ground until June or July. My power remains on so far this morning. All is right with the world! And Netflix has the movie Groundhog Day in streaming video. Looks like a perfect opportunity to drink a cuppa hot chocolate and watch a really great movie!

Happy Groundhog Day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

