Skip to content

What’s up with those photos?

January 15, 2011

New Milford CT real estate talk, what’s up with those photos?

Selling a house in New Milford, CT.

New Milford CT Real EstateI often get asked about photos of homes for sale, probably every time I meet with a buyer we have “the photo conversation”. They want to know why so many homes either have no photos or bad photos. Even sellers ask me “what’s up with those photos” they see online, and more importantly, are you going to do that to us?

Most buyers start their search online. They want to SEE your house. What they don’t want to see is a corner of the room, or crooked photos, or photos too dark to make the room out. They also don’t want to see pictures of your toilet, (especially with the toilet seat up) or messy rooms, or rooms packed with furniture. They want to see if they can imagine living there, they want to feel the house!

The pictures used to represent your house to buyers need to say, “come see me, I am the house you have been looking for”! Pictures tell stories, you want the story of your house to be a good one, not one that leaves them wondering what did it and ran. Bad photos can make a good house look like a horror story.

To show you what can make the difference, the photo above is certainly more pleasing than the photo below. Same room, different angle, the photo above was taken with a wide angle lens. The photo below was not. I did make adjustments to the contrast, etc. for the photo below, but the quality is just not there. I had used a very good point and shoot camera, but it just wasn’t good enough to showcase my listings.

New Milford CT Real EstateI am very particular about the photos I take of homes. I spend hours pouring over them to make sure I pick the best ones, that the contrast is right, that they are straight, that there is nothing in the shot to detract from the photo. Many times I will go back to get new shots because something pops up in the picture I didn’t notice when I was shooting photos. I use a wide angle lens. This assures you that there won’t be a picture of only the corner in the room.

I also may ask you to move some things around, clear some rooms out, etc. This will not only help me to showcase your home in photos, but will help the house to show better when a potential buyers comes through.

Taking the best photos possible of your home is my job. These photos will be used in all types of advertising so they need to look good!

So, the answer to the question, “what is up with those photos we see online?”, I know you aren’t talking about me. My guess is that the person on the other end of the camera isn’t using a wide angle lens and doesn’t know about making adjustments to photos before posting them.

The proof is in the pudding. What’s up with those photos of homes? I don’t know about any others, but my listings always look great!!!

Stay tuned for more New Milford, CT real estate talk.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

