Skip to content

A Silo for Judy…

January 8, 2011

My good friend and blogging buddy Judy Jennings of Plymouth, MA shares many of the same passions I do. She loves milk, loves cows, old barns and really loves silos! Judy grew up on a dairy farm, for those of you who didn’t know that. Anyway, I was out this morning taking pictures of the new fallen snow in New Milford, CT, thinking of Judy. This particular photo I took just for Judy. And then I played with it!

Silo in the snow


I play around with HDR photography. (High dynamic range imaging) Usually you set your camera to take 3 bracketed photos, the exposures will be different for each shot. Then you run them through a program like I use, PhotoMatix Pro, which puts them together and makes a hi def photo. I could NOT trudge through all the snow and carry a tripod. Taking bracketed photos requires the use of a tripod as you want each of the three photos to be identical in everything other than the preset exposure level. When this is the case, I make 2 copies of the original photo and let PhotoMatix Pro tell me that the exposure levels are identical. I set the program to make changes to 2 of the photos and voila, a hi def photo!

The program was under a hundred bucks, it was worth its weight in gold. Try it, I think you will like it as much as I do. And Judy, I hope you like the silo photo. And I am throwing in one more of the old “bull pen” covered in snow.

New Milford CT local scenes

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

