Skip to content

It’s important to be like a big cheese…. Natasha Fatale vs. Vonage Visual Voicemail.

January 2, 2011

It’s important to be like a big cheese…. Natasha Fatale vs. Vonage Visual Voicemail.

the big cheeseDo you remember the Rocky and Bullwinkle Show? When I was a kid that was my favorite cartoon. Of course I didn’t realize that it would be funnier to a grown up, but that is another post entirely. Natasha Fatale, the sexy sidekick of Boris Badenov, has a voice one can’t soon forget. And my mother in law sounds eerily similar to Natasha. Same deep voice, very heavy Russian accent.

Fast forward to today with all our modern technology. I use Vonage for my land line. Vonage has a very cool feature that will transform a voice mail into an email, called Vonage Visual Voice Mail. Normally when my mother in law calls,. she leaves her messages in Russian. Vonage cannot transform Russian, an email comes to me that says “We’re sorry. We were unable to transcribe this message. Please check your voicemail.” But not the other day. She called and decided to leave the message in English. Her English. (My mother in law lived and worked in the U.S. for almost 30 years mind you, and never lost any of her accent.)

And here is our Vonage Visual Voice Mail from my mother in law. I have to tell you, my husband and I laughed for at least 10 minutes. I will keep this email for a long time and look at it whenever I need a chuckle.

“Bye. Hi Josh it’s Scott Anthony yeah. Hi. Happy new year again and I owe it looks like I can reach you or AJ said he’d be lucky whole this year we’ll be very very good for you. It’s important to be like a big cheese. bye bye ”

Sometimes the latest and greatest technology just doesn’t cut the mustard…. Score one for Natasha and a big fat zero for Vonage Visual Voice Mail! Perhaps there is some hidden meaning in the last part of the message, “It’s important to be like a big cheese.” I don’t know… I hope that if this is the secret to life or something I will figure it out soon!

FYI, we have decided NOT to listen to the original message, we like the visual voice mail better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

