Skip to content

Which came first, the spider or the mold?

December 11, 2010

Which came first, the spider or the mold?

horrifiedI can actually answer that question. The spider came first… well, maybe not. Maybe the mold came first and the spider just happened to walk into the home, unsuspecting, unaware of the horror that laid ahead.

We sent a mold testing company into a foreclosure to get a better handle on things. It took quite a while to get from point A to point B, approval from the bank for the testing, (I think a committee of millions is involved in the decision making process), then there was the matter of prompt payment for services rendered before the company would release the findings.

But when they did, my oh my, what a shocker! The mold was so bad, had invaded the house with such voracity that it had encapsulated the spiders and killed them! I don’t have the photo, how I wish I did. I saw the photo, it was like a scene straight out of a horror movie. They had a display board set up for a talk about mold, our poor spiders were center stage. Blown up, you could almost see the pain in their little ugly faces!

The findings are now a poster child for the company, they use it for training seminars and more. The sad part is they have found the house as it is to be uninhabitable as it is, concerning the mold. The cost of the cleanup was estimated at around $35,000.

If you have mold in your home, take it seriously. Your spiders will thank you!

PS, I suffer from arachnophobia. But even I felt bad for these little guys when I saw the photos. OK, not really. I hate spiders, I thought it was a fitting end for such creepy creatures. But it was one of those things that is so disgusting yet amazing all at the same time. And for those who would tell me there is a cure for my phobia, I have been bitten 3 separate times by brown recluse spiders, don’t go there with me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

