Skip to content

A greatful post…. for all.

November 24, 2010

Happy Thanksgiving!I love Thanksgiving, I always have. It is a day to really remember how important it is to give thanks, a time to reflect on what we do have to be thankful for. Family, friends, things that make us smile, little things, big things, many things.

Thanksgiving is really my favorite holiday. Of course I love Christmas, but Thanksgiving holds so much promise for us, it is the start of something magical! People change their attitudes, we spend more time thinking of what we can do for others, all in all a wonderful time of year.

Last night I did grocery shopping for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday. My cousin is coming from Maine with a turduckhen, very exciting indeed. I was a bit annoyed that I had to go to the store, but it quickly faded as I walked in the store.

I forgot to pull the turkey out of the freezer and needed to get a fresh turkey to cook in addition to the turduckhen. (silly me). I was standing by the turkeys when a gentleman, who was clearly confused, came over to me and mentioned that he was having a hard time choosing his turkey. I joked with him for a minute when he revealed that he had invited 40 people over to his house for Thanksgiving, “me and my big mouth” he kept repeating. He also mentioned that his wife was ready to kill him. I wished him a Happy Thanksgiving, he stopped for a minute then loudly pronounced that of course it would be great, he had 40 wonderful people to share it with!

Cue Santa Claus…. a man who looked suspiciously like Santa Claus came up to me as I picked out my turkey and handed me one of those $10 off a turkey coins, smiled and went about his business. I noticed his cart was full of multiple things, for instance he probably had 100 pounds of potatoes in his cart, many many bags of stuffing, etc. Large volumes of the same items.

On my way to the checkout counter I saw pre packed bags of food to buy for $10  that would be delivered to local food banks. Given the fact I now had a $10 off coin for my turkey from Santa, I knew it was the right thing to do.

As I walked out of the store and placed my food donation in the box, I realized that “Santa” had been shopping for others, not himself. The box was filled with what I had seen in his basket just moments before. And this is why I love this time of year! We should carry it over all year, but from Thanksgiving until Christmas it seems to be a magical time.

I am grateful this year for so many many things. It seems appropriate to list some of them here.

To shout out and say to my wonderful and supportive family, thank you. I love you. My husband who is supportive always, my beautiful daughters who have grown to become such amazing women and my dearest friends, my grandsons who are the light of  my life, and there will be a new light of my life in April, yet one more grandson!

To my friends, you make my life easier, sweeter in so many ways. Thank you!

To my clients who have trusted me enough with their real estate deals, thank you for believing in me. You have become like family to me, I wish you all the best in life.

And to all my friends on ActiveRain, thank you for teaching me, for sharing your lives with me, for becoming my friends in every sense of the word. The knowledge you have shared, the courage you have shown in this difficult market, the laughter you spread, the successes and failures you have shared have given me the strength, the courage, the tenacity to hang on and do the best job I can. I wish all of you a Happy Thanksgiving, much success and happiness in your lives.

And as my little gift to all, I am sharing one of my most favorite photos I took on a snowy Thanksgiving morning a few years ago. I went up to feed the cows, and this gal decided to get in the mood for the holiday season and decorate herself! May you all decorate yourselves in the next few weeks and in the years to come!

Thanksgiving Cow

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

