Skip to content

There are some people we should never have to explain things to.

November 23, 2010

There are some people we should never have to explain things to.

You really can’t make this stuff up…

Confused orange manSo, off to meet an appraiser for a short sale, and guess what the first question was? “What is a short sale anyway”? My head spun around faster than Linda Blair in the Exorcist. I suppose I should be grateful, this was the appraisal for the buyers lender. Although grateful was not something I was feeling at that moment in time, truth be told.

Then the next question, could I review the comps the appraiser pulled for the house? After all, he wasn’t from this area….The area he is from

  • Is not a rural community
  • Has home values that are very different from ours, significantly lower

Then I had to explain community wells. He had never heard of a community well.

We spoke about comps, but then the statement came out, he couldn’t use short sales as comps for the home. Now if you don’t know what they are… how do you know you can’t use them? I found that a bit odd..(ok, I found the whole thing odd)

I know I can be a little picky after all….

But don’t you think an appraiser should understand what exactly a short sale is? Or a community well?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

