Skip to content

I don’t care WHAT you say….

November 21, 2010

I don’t care WHAT you say….

Traffic lightI had a totally unexpected conversation the other day with someone I truly respect in the real estate marketing world. They told me blogging was passé, blogging for business is too much work and not worth it. Why do that when I can pay to be advertised on a site that gets millions of people on it looking for a home? Just sit back and let the leads pour in. Doesn’t that sound easy?

I was actually horrified when we were having this conversation. I have put so much time and effort into blogging and now you tell me this? How could this be? But then I thought about it. If it sounds too good to be true… well, you know… it probably is.

I will tell you why I am going to keep blogging. It works. Plain and simple.

I blog to get my name out there, using those keywords that are oh so important. I did an experiment today on someone else’s computer. I knew that the search terms I put in would not be influenced by my own web history. I searched for 2 terms I had recently written about.

  • Consignment shops New Milford CT
  • Live Christmas Trees New Milford CT


Both posts were in the top 3 organic slots on Google. Not bad. The post about Christmas trees went up today.

Now what does that have to do with real estate? Nothing directly. I do hyper local posts to promote my area and to get my name out there. I also do it to help promote local businesses. The more hyper local blogging I do, the more I truly understand long tail keywords, keywords AND the relationship my blogging has to do with my business. The more I blog, the easier it comes to me. I find that on a good day I am thinking in keywords as I write. I am a visual person, I need to see to understand, and I see it clear as the nose on my face.

So, no matter what anyone says about blogging, I am not stopping!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

