Skip to content

It just won’t get you there faster….

August 18, 2010

It just won’t get you there faster….

car vs cowI will preface this post by saying I am a cautious driver and one who has figured out that getting a speeding ticket really is not worth it. I was driving my grandson to daycare this morning, the road I take is a main route for many (Rt 109), it is a windy road where the speed limit is 30 mph, dropping down to 20 mph just before it joins the main road, Rt. 202. This is the way I get to and from my home each and every day. There are tractors pulling large loads of hay, or the infamous honey wagons that drive up and down the road, the conditions are such that you cannot see oncoming traffic. The hills are steep, in the winter I often see cars littered on either side of the road, people who drive too fast for the road conditions, who don’t put winter tires on their vehicles. In the rain it also can be treacherous if you speed.

Never mind the deer that are everywhere, and there are a few farms that still have cows. Ever seen an accident between a cow and a car? Let me tell you, it is not very pretty. Although the cows usually dies, it also wins the battle.

There is one spot on the road where there is a stone and wood fence along the edge of the road. I would venture to say that the stone pillars, which are probably 4 feet around and 4 feet high, has been hit no less than 5 times in the past 2 years. Unlucky for each person who hit the fence, they have hit the stone pillars each time, a few moving them a minimum of 20 feet into the property. The cars were pretty well totaled each time too. Then the other day someone who had to be speeding, went out of control and hit another fence that graced each side of the drive. The fence is gone, all gone.

So the three of us are in the car this morning, my daughter and her son. A young man came up behind me and was obviously furious that I was doing the speed limit. He got right on my tail, he swerved right and left while being only inches from my rear bumper. He couldn’t pass me, and I couldn’t really pull over to let him pass either. He eventually took another road, while honking his horn furiously and almost clipped the drivers side of my car.

As I said in the beginning, I am not a fast driver. People who drive recklessly, who tailgate, who believe the speed limit is not for them drive me crazy. I know a few of my fellow agents speed and tailgate, I often wonder if they do this with clients in the car. And I wonder how they afford all those tickets!

I just had to get this off my chest. If you are a tailgater or speeder, there can be young children in the cars you are harassing. And if you hit me from behind you can bet your bottom dollar you are going to pay for it, in more ways than one.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

