Skip to content

Selling real estate without a license is a crime, what would you do?

July 26, 2010

Selling real estate without a license is a crime, what would you do?

JailI heard something that concerned me a few days ago. I was elsewhere and overheard someone who does not have a real estate license bragging about showing properties listed on the MLS for the listing agent. I thought maybe I didn’t understand it right, this is not a person that would not be eligible for a real estate license because of past “issues”. I can’t prove it is happening, but I am fairly sure it is going on.

I decided to do a bit of online investigating about the agent. Lo and behold I found out more than I wanted to. The agent in question is not a sales person, but a broker. Or let me rephrase that, this person in question used to be a broker until the license lapsed this past March. And this person is actively listing and listed as selling properties since the license lapsed! Never mind sending someone who is unlicensed to show listed properties.

We need better controls on this. I know how hard things have been, I too have been hit very hard by the economy. I did what I had to do in order to keep my license current, as did many many others across the country. I pay my dues to all the associations, I did all of my required CE classes. This gives those of us who follow the rules a bad name.

The DCP is very clear on this, up to $1,000 fine and/or 6 months in jail for selling real estate without a license. They will work with you if your license lapsed, at least that is what they say on their website. I suppose they understand how hard real estate people were hit, and are trying to do their best to help out. But just to continue to sell, using the MLS, using unlicensed people as showing assistants, this is more than wrong, it’s a crime.

I know there are those of you that are wondering what I am I going to do about this? I am more curious as to what you would do! I am relieved that this is no one in my area that I cover, but still, it is bad news all the way around.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

