Skip to content

Your word may be your bond but I am not breaking the law.

June 7, 2010

Your word may be your bond but I am not breaking the law.

Let me set the stage. A few days ago I got a call from a gentleman who is out of state about a listing of mine that sold, a home that needed a substantial amount of work. Total regeneration I called it. The caller wanted details on the home, how much work it might have needed, etc. Then he told me that he was a bit miffed that the agent he was working with didn’t send him the listing, didn’t give him the choice to make up his own mind.

DishonestI didn’t comment, he said he may be calling me back after he spoke to his agent, he wanted to know why she hadn’t sent it to him because he knew it was on for a while.

He called me back with a proposition. Of course I let him speak before I said anything, I wanted to hear what he had to say. He wanted to work with me and the other agent, the deal he proposed was that if we both sent the same listing to him, he would go with whoever sent it first. Hmmm…

I told him I could not interfere with agency relationships, that we are a buyer representation state. He then explained that he didn’t ever sign anything with the other agent. But I should know, his word is his bond.

I took a few moments to explain buyer agency and the contract that is required. I explained that I was not willing to risk my license, wasn’t willing to risk losing my commission to the listing agent, I explained everything. He suggested that he could sign the form at the time of the closing to protect my commission and license. Again he told me his bond was his word.

I told him I wasn’t interested in this type of relationship. He clearly wanted a relationship, so I suggested that if I ran across something, I would call him, but I would not show him anything unless he signed the form for that particular home. I then asked him if he was comfortable with an agent doing business in a way that was against our real estate license laws, that he seemed like a man of his word who did the right thing. I said, please, do not ask me to do the wrong thing.

In the end he agreed. I am still not sure how I feel about this scenario. Am I going to be wasting my time? I don’t know. Will I change my mind? Maybe. I know the other agent is aware of the “deal”, I don’t know who it is however. I will reiterate with him via email that if he signs a blanket buyer agency agreement with the other agent he should let me know.

After all, anyone who is clearly so honest, whose word is his bond should certainly not be asking others to break the law.

My word is my bond too, however I always back it up with a signed buyer agency form!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

