Skip to content

I work hard for, and to be a Realtor® in good standing, no matter what you say

May 3, 2010

I work hard for, and to be a Realtor® in good standing, no matter what you say.

Realtor Trademark LogoI was disheartened for a few reasons this evening. I read a featured post by SarahGray Lamm just a bit ago. She was talking about how her association just sent out a warning against post dating contract purchase agreements to obtain the first time home buyers tax credit. That is bad enough, however what bothered me the most is a comment which was made by a consumer.

The consumer believes that Realtors® are not being held to a higher standard, that we pay money and get in “the club”. I can’t argue, we study, take a test, pay fees, take classes, pay fees, pay fees pay fees, well, you know. (If you don’t pay, you can’t play, true in so many areas of life, right?) I took offense at the statement. I started to answer the commenter in the post and decided against it, I didn’t feel it was appropriate because it was not my post.

First, in all walks of life, all jobs, all communities everywhere there will be people who do the wrong thing. You can find them in churches, in positions of power, well respected positions, the butcher, the baker, the candlestick maker, they are everywhere. On the other side of the coin there are those of us who are hard working and honest. We take being a Realtor® very seriously and the Code of Ethics that go with it. We strive to do our best for our clients, to do what is right.

In order to make a difference I serve on my local Board of Realtors®. I sit on the Grievance Committee, I try to make sure that the face that is presented to the community is one of honesty and integrity. I know many other Realtors® do the same thing. They selflessly volunteer their time, talents and treasures to many local organizations and charities, making their communities a better place to live in.

Before making a blanket judgment of all Realtors®, stop to find out who we are, what we do in our communities and for our organizations. We are not all bad, not all greedy, not all unethical people. Just ask our clients!

I work hard for, and to be a Realtor® in good standing, no matter what you say!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

