Skip to content

Just when I thought it was safe to go in the water…

February 22, 2010

SharkJust when I thought it was safe to go in the water…. Every day is an adventure in real estate, don’t you agree? Today was no different, all sorts of twists and turns, that is what keeps us on our toes. Problems arise and you handle them, deftly and swiftly, mustering all the courage you have to face what comes your way. You put those big girl/big boy pants on and just fix the issues, one at a time as they come flying at you.

However…. I was not prepared for this little twist.

I sent off a quick email to the mortgage person about the appraisal. Now, I have been recently diagnosed with appraisalphobia. (It is a horrible phobia to have, the more research you do on the subject, the more difficult it is to overcome.) The appraiser had made an appointment to meet me at the listing a week ago. My palms were sweaty as I pulled into the driveway to meet him, I could feel my stomach churning around. I was praying that he wouldn’t notice how my hands were shaking when I put the key in the lock to open the door. But it was a pleasant surprise, things seemed to go well! I was less nervous after we met, this might be ok after all.

The response to my email? Wonderful, the appraisal came out $10,000 higher than the price my clients are paying! Now there is a miracle if you ask me!

It was the second part of the email that sent me in a tailspin.

The underwriter disagrees with the appraiser.

I knew it wasn’t really safe to go in the water…. I think I have a dual diagnosis, appraisaunderwritaphobia.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

