Skip to content

Accountability (ə-ˌkau̇n-tə-ˈbi-lə-tē)

February 16, 2010

Accountability,  (ə-ˌkan-tə-ˈbi-lə-tē) according to Merriam Webster is defined as the
quality or state of being accountable; especially an obligation or
willingness to accept responsibility or to account for one’s actions
<public officials lacking accountability>
.

Depressed Screen BeanI read a (well deserved featured) post yesterday by Jon Zolsky called “Convenience For Whom?”. His story, coupled with the incident listed below caused me to write this.

My cell phone rang yesterday. Private number. Truth be told, I thought it was my doctor with my test results. (No, I am not pregnant.)

Caller: Ms. Swiedler (ok, he really screwed up the name but many do) this is Trevor from Chase Mortgage Services. I am calling to see if you would agree to do a drive by BPO of (insert address here).

Me: Excuse me? I am the listing agent for that property. Why would I do a drive by BPO of the property?

Caller: Oh, you are? Well, I am trying to get a drive by BPO of the home for an upcoming short sale.

Me: Short sale? What ARE you talking about? We are not, and I repeat NOT in a short sale position. (I know this for a fact. (The sale may be bringing the home owners from the brink of other misfortune, but short sale it is not, not by a very large long shot!)

Caller: I don’t know about that, I am just trying to see if you would be willing to do a drive by BPO. But you say you are the listing agent for the property?

Me: Yes indeed. Is there someone there I can speak to about this, as you have bad information.

Caller: You can call the lender short sale department at XXX.XXX.XXXX. I am in a call center that just sets appointments for BPO’s in short sales. You need to speak with the short sale department. I will call someone else to see if they will be willing to do a drive by BPO for the upcoming short sale. Thank you.

Bla Bla Bla. OK, maybe Trevor was new. I mean, he had to know I was the listing agent as he called my CELL PHONE NUMBER. A very confused Andrea contacted the lender at the number given, and was put on hold and hung up on 5 times in a row. I actually drove down to the office of the sellers attorney to make these calls. While I was on the phone being hung up on 5 times, she was ordering the payoff. The last person I spoke to refused to speak with me without 3rd party authorization. (She was the only one who asked for the authorization, but then again the others may have solved that problem by hanging up on me, transferring me to mailboxes that were full, belonging to some obscure non entity.) I was annoyed, but kept my cool as I was looking at the payoff that just been faxed to the attorney.

Me: OK, well, don’t speak to me, I understand. But please hear and note what I am telling you. You can’t discuss but you certainly must be able to listen! I am looking at the payoff that was just faxed to the attorney, this is NOT and I repeat NOT a short sale situation. Please fix your records, and I hope that the client does not suffer from this misunderstanding.

She: I will note that in the file. Click. Oh, she hung up on me without even saying goodbye! I was not rude, not at all.

I am befuddled, addled, baffled and bemused. OK, confused is more like it. Not surprised however, not at all.

When does accountability come into the picture? I am tired of hearing how they are dealing with so many problems, they are overloaded, they are this, they are that. Perhaps they need experienced short sale Realtors® to solve the problem, to show them how to run their short sale and foreclosure divisions. (I’m just sayin… )

Are we accountable for our mistakes? Accountable, (ə-ˈkan-tə-bəl), again according to Merriam Webster is defined as: 1: subject to giving an account: ANSWERABLE <held her accountable for the damage>
2. capable of being accounted for” EXPLAINABLE. synonyms see RESPONSIBLE

We are held accountable for our mistakes, we are held to a higher standard as Realtors®, our lack of action, or mis-actions have concequences, we are answerable to bad judgment, to bad advice, to poor quality of work. Ok, maybe not all of us feel this, but I know the majority of people reading this do.

Who is holding the lenders accountable? We bailed them out and they still gave out very large bonuses. The press is all over them like flies on cow poop, yet they continue to be UN accountable for their mistakes. It is overwhelming and totally UN acceptable!

I know this is not a crisis, this is a mistake on the part of the lender. However… we all know that mistakes such as foreclosures on properties that are already sold and the lenders were paid off occur. Count me one as tired of the excuses, and very tired of the arrogance!

I want accountability, I want a smooth process for homeowners that are in trouble, I am tired of excuses. OK, so I also want to buy the winning lottery ticket, I know I know… “How does it feel to want, Andrea?” Thanks for allowing me to rant!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

