Skip to content

Playing in the rain can change your business and your life!

January 29, 2010

Playing in the rain will certainly change the way you do your business, and most probably will make a positive influence on your life!

Janna Rankin ScharfI was at the office the other day when my broker came over and handed me a package that had just arrived for me. Before handing it to me she asked who did I know from Coeur d’Alene Idaho? Without skipping a beat I loudly announced I knew Janna Rankin Scharf!!! I dove into the package like a kid on Christmas morning.

Inside was a book called “The Millionaire Real Estate Agent” by Gary Keller. Janna said that the book “Shift” that caused such a stir on AR a while back is the sequal to this book. She knew I ordered “Shift” and wanted me to read this book first. So read it I am, I lost myself in the first half of the book with wild abandon. Janna even marked some places she felt were very important things to remember, and I have to say, I agree with her. My own hi-lighter pen is busy as can be.

What a great book! Mr. Keller is certainly upbeat, his unique perspectives are ones I can easily agree with. I have not finished the book but I am already thrilled with what I have read and am realizing some very important things I have done, shall we say, not quite right in my thought process and planning of my business. Mr. Keller insists that re-inventing the wheel is just not smart, if something is proven to work, base your plan on that plan. Of course you may have to do some tweaking, markets are a bit different. But that should be your base when making a plan.
Millionaire Real Estate Agent
Aim high is another tenet of the book. I believe that is a positive way to look at things. I like positive, when I think positive, positive things happen. There is no doubt in my mind about that, I have seen it happen over and over and over again. Positive thinking is not as easy as one might think, I work hard to keep that train of thought heading in the right direction and I am the first one to admit that I am not always successful with it.

One more very interesting tenet of Mr. Kellers is his take on failure and success. He says that failure almost always precedes success. To prove his point he refers back to a print on the wall of his childhood home called “Portrait of an Achiever” with the following on it.

  • 1832 Failed in business-bankruptcy
  • 1832 Defeated for legislature
  • 1834 Failed in business-bankruptcy
  • 1835 Fiancee died
  • 1836 Nervous breakdown
  • 1838 Defeated in election
  • 1843 Defeated for U.S. Congress
  • 1848 Defeated for U.S. Senate
  • 1856 Defeated for Vice President
  • 1858 Defeated for U.S. Senate
  • 1860 Elected President of the United States of America

I am sure you realize it was Abraham Lincoln. I was amazed at his perseverance, I don’t think I realized how many personal defeats Mr. Lincoln endured to become one of our most remembered presidents. If he had quit he would have been an obscure figure in history and our world could possibly be very very different even to this day. This proves a very important point to me about looking at failure, and yes, failures do precede success.

Aim HighMr. Keller believes that we should all aim high, limiting yourself because you think you can’t do something is just foolish. He shares a conversation he had with someone where he said perhaps we should tell our children that they can never achieve anything good, don’t have dreams as you won’t ever be able to have them come true anyway. I had to put the book down when reading that, realizing that although we tell our children they can achieve anything, we often don’t tell ourselves that, he is so right.

I am so grateful Janna Rankin Scharf sent me this book, it has already changed my train of thought and I am not half way finished yet. By the time my copy of “Shift” arrives I should be in the right frame of mind to read and absorb all that book has to offer.

So to Janna, thank you. Although we are miles and miles apart and have never met face to face, I am so grateful to have made a friend like you here in the ‘rain. You are one awesome lady! I am so enjoying the book and it not only applies to real estate, but to life itself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

