Skip to content

I have 24.5 days left of the holiday season, how about you?

December 21, 2009

Santa ClausI have 24.5 days left of the holiday season, how about you?

(Here is where it gets a bit confusing, even for me.) There are 3.5 days left before Christmas, or not…. I also have 17.5 days before Christmas, which is pretty good for the whole after the Christmas sale thingy. Works for me, especially this year.

Then there are 24.5 days until the finial New Year Celebration, which will be on January 14th, a week after our final Christmas.

Don’t even mention the 12 days of Christmas, which actually start after Christmas.

I don’t know about you, but all of a sudden I am not feeling so rushed anymore because I have 17.5 days until my final Christmas, and 24.5 days until the season is officially ended. Life is good indeed!

Grandfather FrostNope, I am not off my nut, ok, well maybe I am but not about this. My husband is Russian Orthodox. His Christmas is January 7th, which to some of you may (or may not) be known as Little Christmas. Then true to form, 7 days later comes New Years (yet again). So, after Santa Claus visits, Ded Moroz (Дед Мороз) will visit us, aka Grandfather Frost. He looks a wee bit like Santa Claus with the long white beard, but typically Russian his robes are very ornate and beautiful, and he is tall and thin. He is carried around on a troika, pulled by three magnificent horses, not 8 reindeer. The confusing part is that Grandfather Frost brings the gifts on New Years Eve, but to be honest I am not sure which New Years Eve, the one at the end of December, or the one on January 13th. Grandfather Frost is often
accompanied by his granddaughter, Snegurochka, the Snow Maiden.

I feel better already, I can relax a bit and enjoy 24.5 days more of the holiday season!

Merry Christmas

Clip art courtesy of Christmas Webmaster

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

