Skip to content

Using Social Media Even if You Don’t Know What You Are Doing!

December 3, 2009

Using social media even if you don’t know what you are doing!

Facebook IconI am on Facebook, I have some family as friends, mostly people from AR and have added some clients. As I have said before, my Facebook time is usually spent tending my farms, which I sadly have not had time to work on since Thanksgiving. But today an interesting message came in from a client to my Facebook account.

My client forwarded a message he got on Facebook from a friend who has decided that New Milford seems like a great place to live. I am waiting to hear back from him on contact information.

Think outside the box for Facebook, Twitter, wherever you end up. Make sure you friend or tweet or whatever your clients and that you post your posts from ActiveRain there! You just never know. If I am not farming, I don’t spend a lot of time there, it is not a waste of my time if I don’t let it be. It is a way to keep connected to people especially in a society where time is limited for phone calls or face2face. I don’t have to spend an hour on the phone to know what is going on in someones life. I can pick up the phone if I want to, but for the most part it is just a non intrusive way of staying in touch. And no matter how much you don’t like the concept, the younger generation is all over this way of communicating! And they are buying homes!

Recently I was involved in a conversation that said Facebook was a waste of time, only for the younger generation bla bla bla. Yes, these were Realtors® talking. These are people who don’t have their own web sites, think I am silly with all my blogging. But they didn’t get the heads up on someone looking in this area for a home to buy. Nor are anywhere to be found on Google unless you Google them by name!

And putting your posts from Activerain on Facebook is as simple as…. doing nothing! I have a page set up for real estate, my blog is networked and Facebook pulls the posts for me! I actually paid Realbird to set the real estate page up for me, (a nominal amount) because I was tired of trying to figure things out! It was painless and quick. I know I could have done it myself, but what the heck. It’s nice to have “people” isn’t it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

