Skip to content

A Most Fantastic Voyage

November 29, 2009

A most fantastic voyage, that is what I had!

Faneuil HallPBG Award of MeritJust a few days away and what a difference. It started early Friday morning, I packed myself up, got in the jeep and drove to Rhode Island to meet my dear friend from Chicago who was there visiting her daughter. After I arrived we went to Boston for a visit to Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market. Then to Chinatown for most fantastic dinner. Saturday we packed up and went to Mystic, Connecticut and ate at Mystic Pizza, watched Santa arrive on a tug boat, then to the Mystic Aquarium. What a fun time I had!

Faneuil Hall is amazing, it is referred to as the “Cradle of Liberty”. Standing in the great hall you can almost feel all the great men that came before us, that shaped this country. The architecture is so grand, I really enjoyed seeing it. I had been there as a child but didn’t appreciate it the way I did this time around. Boston is decked out for Christmas, it made for a beautiful light display. The old against the new was fascinating!

I have never been to Mystic, Connecticut as long as I have lived here, I really should have gone. The aquarium is fantastic, I plan to go back again, perhaps in the spring or the summer. All the creatures were mesmerizing, the colors so vibrant, the assortment of sea creatures is really mind boggling. (The last few pictures were a bit on the spooky side, looks like Casper the friendly whale.)

http://picasaweb.google.com/s/c/bin/slideshow.swf
It was a fantastic voyage, amazing to think it was a mere 48 hours that I was gone! I really should make it a habit of traveling right here in New England more often.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

