Skip to content

Do you suffer from paraskavedekatriaphobia?

November 13, 2009

Do you suffer from ? My husband does, and it is deep rooted for him. And according to a Dr. Donald Dossey, who coined the phrase “paraskavedekatriaphobia” at least 21 million Americans suffer from this phobia. Paraskavedekatriaphobia is the fear of Friday the 13th.
paraskavedekatriaphobia
My husband is extremely superstitious. He attributes it to a) being Russian and b) growing up in the theater. He has a double whammy on him! 

According to the Mirriam-Webster online dictionary, the word superstition means:

1 a
: a belief or practice resulting from ignorance, fear of the unknown, trust in magic or chance, or a false conception of causation b : an irrational abject attitude of mind toward the supernatural, nature, or God resulting from superstition
2 : a notion maintained despite evidence to the contrary

Black catMy husband is better than some who are gripped by fear on this dreaded date. He does leave the house, but I will admit he wakes up believing that things will go wrong on this dreaded date. And so, it does. He is already upset, angry, fearful and dreading the rest of the day. He is convinced something bad will happen to him, thus it will.

Me? I can’t say I suffer from it. As a matter of fact, my oldest daughter was born on a Friday the 13th, it was a full moon, and technically we were on the 13th floor of the hospital. However, the floors were numbered 11, 12, 14. I am guessing the hospital administration suffered from paraskavedekatriaphobia too. I may have a touch of Arachnophobia, but then again I have been bitten THREE times by brown recluse spiders. Musophobia has crossed my mind when a rat jumped on my shoulder in the barn. And I do know I have alektorophobia, it has something to do with an attack perpetrated on me by an unruly rooster, leaving a bruise that covered by entire left backside. But paraskavedekatriaphobia is not on my list.

How about you? Are you staying home today?


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

