Skip to content

Sellers note, I am working for the buyer on this deal or who does this real estate agent really work for?

July 23, 2009

decision Sellers, please note, I am working for the buyers on this deal. Although you ultimately pay my commission, I am still working for the buyers on this deal. I actually have a contract with the buyers and with that a fiduciary responsibility to the buyers. If I worked for you I would have your home listed. I am unaware of the events that led to your decision of a listing agent, however since I am not your listing agent I can’t help you.  If you are not getting what you want, please call the agents broker. If the agent is also the broker, speak with your attorney.

When I am working for a buyer I am protecting their interests. What is my obligation to my client? To help them get the best house possible at the best price possible. Would I put an offer in without being pre-approved? No way, that would not be helping my client to get the best house at the best price possible. Again, please note, I am working for the buyers on this deal. I am protecting their interests to get the best house possible at the best price possible.

When inspections come around it is my job to ask for whatever the client wants to have addressed to be repaired. Some of these items are a must as far as lenders or insurance companies are concerned. Some of these items may even be deal breakers. But it is my job to get the best house possible at the best price possible. I work for the buyers on this deal.

When your agent gets the list of repairs requested, they are just that, requests. Your agent should be taking the time to discuss the ramifications of this list with you. It is no secret, but it is not mandatory to do any or all of these items. Of course you should know that these items will come back to haunt you with each and every offer. But some of them are not deal breakers I am sure. Again, I am working for the buyers on this deal, it is my responsibility to get them the best house possible for the best price possible.
house sold
The one thing I can tell you is I am also a listing agent. My clients get my full attention, and all these details are explained. When I work as a listing agent I owe a fiduciary responsibility to assist my clients with the sale of their home for the best price possible. My clients are well informed of the problems appraisals bring these days, they are urged to look for and take care of any details that may come up in an inspection, they are told if things can’t be taken care of the house should be priced accordingly. I can’t discuss this with you, even if your agent is not explaining the process to you. You should have been told what the ramifications are if the appraisal comes in lower than the agreed upon price or if the amount of work needing to be addressed seems overwhelming to you.

But for this deal, I am working for the buyer and it is my responsibility to get them the best house possible for the best price possible.

The one other thing I can tell you is that I take my responsibilities to my clients, as both buyers and sellers, very seriously. So, if you are in the market to purchase a home in the greater New Milford area, or looking to sell a home in the greater New Milford area, please give me a call. When I work for you it will be my pleasure and responsibility to do the best job I can to bring the sale home AT THE BEST PRICE POSSIBLE!

Are you looking to buy a home or sell a home in the greater New Milford area? Please contact me or visit my website to find out more.

Homes for sale, greater New Milford CT.

Local area information, New Milford, Washington, Roxbury, Kent, Bridgewater, Sherman and Warren. Why you should be looking for a home here!

© 2009 Andrea Swiedler. Unless otherwise noted, the content, both written and in pictures, is the property of Andrea Swiedler. If you wish to use something you see here, please email me (andrea@andreswiedler.com) with your request. Most likely I will oblige, with a link back to my original content as well as an acknowledgment. Although imitation is the highest form of flattery, please let me know before you decide to bestow this form of flattery on me! Thank you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

