Skip to content

Memorial Day thoughts from New Milford CT

May 24, 2009

Tablet Tomorrow is the day we celebrate Memorial Day. We will all assemble on the Village Green at 9:30 in anticipation of the start of the parade at 10:00 am. First the speakers, if we are lucky, the flyover, then the parade with the veterans, the bands, the children, I love this parade.

Early this morning I went around downtown New Milford to take a few pictures of our beautiful town, all the flags are lining Main Street and beyond, the flowers are planted, and tomorrow the wreaths will be placed in front of the memorial at the south end of the green. The streets will be lined with spectators waving their flags as the parade passes by. We will have a gun salute that will chill me to the bone, then taps, which always brings a tear to my eye. Then off to Veterans Bridge to toss a wreath in the river in memory of the sailors who lost their lives in service to our country.

Next, the Great Housatonic Duck Race, sponsored by the New Milford Rotary Club. I love the duck race, I have my own duck entered. Let’s just hope this year he doesn’t get off to a slow start again. We have been in training all year long and I expect to win that 50 inch plasma TV! After the festivities it is off to my oldest daughters to have a BBQ of course.

Memorial Day 2 

Memorial Day

IMGP4478  Town Green Memorial Flags

After I left the Village Green this morning I pulled into Center Cemetery, I wanted to see the flags that had been placed. There were so many, it was a stirring sight to be sure. But what I found most interesting is that the oldest part of the cemetery had flags placed by the headstones of those who served us so many many years ago. A long time gone, but certainly for this day, not forgotten and much appreciated.

IMGP4485

Cemetary Memorial

My heart swells with pride, is heavy with sorry for all the men and women lost in service to our country, for all the conflicts, police actions and wars. One day out of 365 is not enough to thank you for your sacrifice, one day is not enough to let your loved ones know how much we appreciate that you laid down your life for us. For those who died oh so many years ago, long forgotten names and times, today I will hold you in my heart and you will live again.

Died 1816 Memorial

Have a wonderful, safe, happy and healthy Memorial Day. I hope those of your who live in the area will be stopping by the Village Green to enjoy the parade.  For those who live far away, I hope you will find a way to honor our fallen service men and women as we will do here.

© 2009 Andrea Swiedler. Unless otherwise noted, the content, both written and in pictures, is the property of Andrea Swiedler. If you wish to use something you see here, please email me (andrea@andreswiedler.com) with your request. Most likely I will oblige, with a link back to my original content as well as an acknowledgment. Although imitation is the highest form of flattery, please let me know before you decide to bestow this form of flattery on me! Thank you.

Looking to purchase or sell a home in the greater New Milford CT area? Please contact me , or visit my website to find out more about me.

What is good about New Milford and the surrounding communities? Check it out! More information about local real estate, local happenings and local photography.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

